IPoem

March 9, 2010 melervin

I am a baby whale                               

I live in the depths of the ocean

I wonder where my mother and I will travel today

I hear the songs of my mother, creaking like a swinging door

I see the sunlight glistening through the water as my mother pushes me to the top for my

first breath of air

I want to be enormous like my mother is now

I am a baby whale

I breathe through my blowhole spouting out air like a geyser

I feel my mother’s slippery skin next to mine as we glide through the ocean together

I drink her rich milk that helps me to grow strong fast

I am comforted by the protection from my mother and know that she will keep me from harm     

I understand that my mother is scared of no animal in the ocean

I also understand that it is man that I will fear all my life

I am a baby whale

I hope to be as graceful and wonderful as my mother swimming through the ocean

I was once a tiny baby relying on my mother for food and protection

I am now a year old and separated from my mother on my own to search for food to eat

I try to be the good hunter that my mother was finding the tiny krill that we love so much

I wonder if I will every see my mother again or are we separated forever by this vast ocean

I say to man leave us alone to roam freely wherever we please

I am a baby whale

Resource:  Esbensen, B. J. (1994).  Baby whales drink milk.  Harper Collins:  New York, NY.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Categories

Pages

Meta